Marguerite Yourcenar

Marguerite_Yourcenar-soleil-couchant-pixabay-skervor-688po

 

“I condemn the ignorance that prevails now in democracies as well as in totalitarian regimes. This ignorance is so strong, often so complete, that it looks desired by the system, if not by the regime.

I have often thought about what could be children’s education. I think we need basic research, very simple, where the child learn that he is in the universe, on a planet which he will later save resources, that he depends on the air, on water, on all living beings, and that the slightest error or any violence could destroy everything.

He would learn that humans killed each other in wars that never produce anything but other wars, and that each country manages its history, falsely, so as to flatter its pride. We would teach him enough past to make him feel connected to humans who preceded him, so that he admires them when they deserve to be, without making idols, neither with the present nor with a hypothetical future.

We try to familiarize with both books and things; he would know the names of plants, he would know the animals without engaging the hideous vivisection imposed to children and very young adolescents under pretext of biology; he would learn to give first aid to the wounded; his sexual education would include attendance at childbirth, mental education would include sight of seriously ill and dead people.

We would also give him the simple moral concepts without which social life is impossible, instruction that elementary and middle schools do not dare give in that country. In religion, we would impose no practice or dogma, but we would say something from all major world religions, and especially that of the country where he lives to awaken in him the respect and destruction in advance of some odious prejudices.

We would teach him to love work when the work is useful, and not get caught up in the advertising deception, starting with the one that boasts more or less adulterated sweets, preparing him caries and future diabetes. There is certainly a way to talk to children about really important things earlier than we do. ”  (source)Marguerite Yourcenar, extrait of” open eyes “(book-interview of Galey, Ed. The Centurion)

 

marguerite-yourcenar-memorial-688po

 

Marguerite Yourcenar1903-1987 resembles none, imitates none, her findings just hit. Her work -historical novels, autobiographies- develops according to its own logic, that of the inner journey and self-discovery, very clear of literary fashions of her time: the last century. Her language, simple and classic in style, aesthetics, prioritizes narrative, the work of the storyteller in storytelling. Inspired by oriental wisdom, and especially by the Greco-Roman philosophy, thought the writer was never far from the Renaissance humanism: “The true birthplace is where you take for the first time an intelligent look at yourself. My first homelands have been books.”
 
For her, from childhood, writing is a necessity. She spent her life backpacking, goddess with dusty feet, jumping from heart to heart and from continent to continent, foraging in books and meetings – which often are one to her – the food for her incredible and multifaceted literary work.

 

Every innocent joy is a remnant of Eden. (Marguerite Yourcenar)

 

Recognition of readers however will wait her 48th birthday. Her novel Memoirs of Hadrian, in 1951, is a worldwide success and earned her the final status of writer, dedicated in 1970 by her election to the Royal Academy of language and French literature in Belgium, and ten years later, by her entry into the French Academy, with the active support of Academician writer Jean d’Ormesson.

 

jean-d-ormesson-688po

 
“The Abyss, initiated in 1923-24, was published in 1968. This novel is undoubtedly the keystone of Marguerite Yourcenar work. “Let us try to enter death with open eyes.” It embodies especially the passer-by, for whom the search for meaning necessarily passes through the abyss.” (source)
 
A woman, a free being, animated by a powerful ideal, went down into the lions’ den for them to hear her roar. The fawn long cry will sound on the lonely night of hearts. She writes to share the loftiness of her views, she is engaged to deliver. The clarity of her analysis and the safety of her judgment, as evidenced by the quoted text on top, with what force, compel us to grow and grow more to fructify her legacy.
 

I condemn the ignorance that prevails at the moment, so strong that it looks desired by the system. (Marguerite Yourcenar)

 

Innumerable are our ways and our homes are uncertain.
Saint-John Perse

Marguerite Yourcenar

 Marguerite_Yourcenar-soleil-couchant-pixabay-skervor-688po

 

« Je condamne l’ignorance qui règne en ce moment dans les démocraties aussi bien que dans les régimes totalitaires. Cette ignorance est si forte, souvent si totale, qu’on la dirait voulue par le système, sinon par le régime.

J’ai souvent réfléchi à ce que pourrait être l’éducation de l’enfant. Je pense qu’il faudrait des études de base, très simples, où l’enfant apprendrait qu’il existe au sein de l’univers, sur une planète dont il devra plus tard ménager les ressources, qu’il dépend de l’air, de l’eau, de tous les êtres vivants, et que la moindre erreur ou la moindre violence risque de tout détruire.

Il apprendrait que les hommes se sont entretués dans des guerres qui n’ont jamais fait que produire d’autres guerres, et que chaque pays arrange son histoire, mensongèrement, de façon à flatter son orgueil. On lui apprendrait assez du passé pour qu’il se sente relié aux hommes qui l’ont précédé, pour qu’il les admire là où ils méritent de l’être, sans s’en faire des idoles, non plus que du présent ou d’un hypothétique avenir.

On essaierait de le familiariser à la fois avec les livres et les choses ; il saurait le nom des plantes, il connaîtrait les animaux sans se livrer aux hideuses vivisections imposées aux enfants et aux très jeunes adolescents sous prétexte de biologie ; il apprendrait à donner les premiers soins aux blessés ; son éducation sexuelle comprendrait la présence à un accouchement, son éducation mentale la vue des grands malades et des morts.

On lui donnerait aussi les simples notions de morale sans laquelle la vie en société est impossible, instruction que les écoles élémentaires et moyennes n’osent plus donner dans ce pays. En matière de religion, on ne lui imposerait aucune pratique ou aucun dogme, mais on lui dirait quelque chose de toutes les grandes religions du monde, et surtout de celle du pays où il se trouve, pour éveiller en lui le respect et détruire d’avance certains odieux préjugés.

On lui apprendrait à aimer le travail quand le travail est utile, et à ne pas se laisser prendre à l’imposture publicitaire, en commençant par celle qui lui vante des friandises plus ou moins frelatées, en lui préparant des caries et des diabètes futurs. Il y a certainement un moyen de parler aux enfants de choses véritablement importantes plus tôt qu’on ne le fait. » (source)Marguerite Yourcenar, extrait de « Les yeux ouverts » livre-interview de Matthieu Galey, Ed. Le Centurion

 

marguerite-yourcenar-memorial-688po

 

Marguerite Yourcenar1903-1987 ne ressemble à personne, n’imite personne, et tous ses traits frappent juste. Son oeuvre, romans historiques, autobiographies, se développe selon sa logique propre, celle du chemin intérieur et de la découverte de soi, très à l’écart des modes littéraires de son époque : le siècle dernier.
 
Sa langue, au style épuré et classique, son esthétisme, la priorité au récit, au travail du conteur, à la narration. Inspirée par la sagesse orientale, et surtout par la philosophie gréco-latine, la pensée de l’écrivain ne s’est jamais éloignée de l’humanisme de la Renaissance : « Le véritable lieu de naissance est celui où l’on a porté pour la première fois un coup d’œil intelligent sur soi-même : mes premières patries ont été les livres. » (source)
 
Chez elle, dès l’enfance, l’écriture est une nécessité qui fait loi. Elle a passé sa vie à bourlinguer, déesse aux pieds poudreux, sautant de coeur en coeur et de continent en continent, butinant dans les livres et les rencontres – qui souvent ne font qu’un pour elle – l’aliment de son incroyable et multiforme oeuvre littéraire.
 
 
 
Chaque joie innocente est un reste de l’Eden. (Marguerite Yourcenar)

 
 
La reconnaissance des lecteurs attendra pourtant ses 48 ans. Son roman Mémoires d’Hadrien, en 1951, connaît un succès mondial et lui vaut le statut définitif d’écrivain, consacré en 1970 par son élection à l’Académie royale de langue et de littérature françaises de Belgique, et dix ans plus tard, par son entrée à l’Académie française, grâce au soutien actif de l’écrivain académicien Jean d’Ormesson.
 
 
jean-d-ormesson-688po
 
 
L’Œuvre au noir, initiée dès 1923-24, paraît en 1968. Ce roman est sans doute la clé de voûte de l’œuvre de Marguerite Yourcenar: «Tâchons d’entrer dans la mort les yeux ouverts.» Il incarne surtout celui qui est de passage, pour qui la quête de sens transite nécessairement par l’abîme. (source)
 
Une femme, être libre, animée d’un idéal puissant, est descendue dans la fosse aux lions pour y faire entendre son rugissement. Le cri fauve retentira longtemps dans la triste nuit des coeurs. Elle écrit pour faire partager la hauteur de ses vues, elle se livre pour délivrer. La clarté de ses analyses et la sûreté de son jugement, comme en témoigne le texte cité, avec quelle force, nous contraignent à grandir, grandir encore pour faire fructifier son héritage.
 
Je condamne l’ignorance qui règne en ce moment, si forte qu’on la dirait voulue par le système. (Marguerite Yourcenar)

 
La grande joie d’être, et de vouloir, et de ne rien craindre.
Jack Kerouac