Ereshkigal

 

Ereshkigal? Not know. Which movie is it in? In the film to make about our true story, full of gods and heroes, bravery and cruelty. In the film that must be shot on our divine origin, on the distant times when the gods walked among men. Those distant times which are so close to me. 

Former Goddesses

The former gods are all right. Their way. But the former goddesses are much more interesting. We were created, pampered, nourished, educated by goddesses. Our humanity, fifth of the name, began with a long matriarchy. A very, very long female supremacy, oh yes.

Ereshkigal, the “Lady of the Great Earth” is the goddess of the world of the dead, the Mesopotamian Hells. Prince Nergal gave her a son. Apart from this love story, not much is known about the female patron of Grand En-Bas.

What does Ereshkigal mean? We could break it down into phonemes of the original language, but Google Trad put me on another track: Bengali. It is one of the Indian languages, the one we speak in Bengal and Bangla Desh. In Bengali, Ereshkigal is written: ইরেশ কি গল্ and means: What the hell? It can also be written: এর এস কি গল্ which means: What’s new? Kind of a joke or fresh new track? Wait and see.

In Turkish, these phonemes mean something else: er (private) esk (old) igal (occupation). In Estonian, igal = all. Which evokes something like: Former secret mission (of general interest).

Mountain or Hell

Very different from Christian hell, Mesapotamian hells seem to be an interior space where the dead are held. These hells were first called KUR or The Mountain. Subsequently, they were relocated underground, but retained the name of KUR. They are under our feet and we call them the Mountain … Why?

Let’s see. K UR, this name indicates UR, the origin of the Gods before, and UR, the first city of the gods on earth. Why does (k) ur mean the Mountain? For the same reason that the Greeks located the domain of the gods on Mount Olympus. The theme of the god on the mountain is a recurring myth on all continents. Because to go to the Gods, you first had to climb a mountain. This is due to the flying machines of the gods before, which could only take off from a height, a truncated pyramid, a level mountain … I discussed this question in detail in The Thrones of Solomon.

The idea to remember is that in the past, to go to the gods, you had to go through the Mountain, while now, you have to go down to Lady Ereshkigal.

 

 

Down

It is present in stories such as Inanna’s Descent into Hell or Nergal and Ereshkigal or in the Hymns to the Temples. She reigns in her palace named Ganzer, assisted by some infernal gods, but cut off from all relations with the living on the surface and the gods above. Thus we deduce it from a few snatches collected on his account at random from the cuneiform tablets.

Ganzer, in German, means whole / entire. What is an entire palace? A large palace? Or an airlock that gives access to the entire universe? For now, let’s limit ourselves to these speculations. Here we know the name of her palace,Thus we know the name of his palace, but we do not know what her activity as Reine d’En Bas consists of. Does she take care of the dead in her care? Not really. She explains to her lover that if he does not come down to join her, she will restore life to all the dead who will come to invade the earth. This threat decides the poor transi, Nergal, whose name means in Swedish: The one that a girl draws down. (Ner = down; Gal = girl).

The Swedish language suggests that Nergal is Hyperborean. There is every likelihood that the legendary Sumerian corpus is a relocation of events that took place further north, in Hyperborea and on Celtic lands.

But this mytheme means that the dead really are. Ereshkigal therefore has nothing to do to take care of them, they are dead. Big difference with Christian hell, where the dead are very much alive, where sinners have their loaves roasted and their balls straddled by polymorphous perverse bastards, like the Catholic clergy. But then, what does Ereshkigal occupy her time with, all alone in the midst of maccabs? Not to mention the smell, she must have been pissed off at a hundred cents an hour. Especially before her lover comes downstairs to do stuff and a kid on her. It occupies.

Lady Lai

Ereshkigal sang all summer
Winter came, she is worried
About the place she had to live.
She went to cry misery
At Inanna her heart sister
Begging her to lend her
Her palace to survive
In these fucking Hells.

Inanna would not be selfish
She believes she is a dish.
-Is this all you really need?
She said to the cheeky bitch.
-Would you give a bit to eat?
Anything to dress and change?
Could you lend me any crew?
A maid in her home on the range?
And a coachman and a groom,
Roaster, lackey, miller, jockey
A thousand bucks for the mass …

Inanna turned and showed her ass.

 

Grand Guardian

Ereshkigal is a great lady who doesn’t worry about details. We call her the Lady of Grand Land. Why ? Because Grand Land is its domain. The basement. If the Earth is hollow as many ancient texts claim, that makes a lot of room inside. Hence Grand Land.

The Mountain down. The Very Grand Place opens onto infinity. Not figuratively, but literally. Under our feet, in our Mother’s womb, there is a passage. A Stargate. An airlock to Elsewhere. A White Bridge that shines with all the desires of men.

It is not a single door, but seven in a row.

Ereshkigal is the Guardian of the Threshold. For all the dead on this planet, it is the obligatory passage to the rest of our post-mortem adventure. This is her job where she excels. And by dead I mean those who have known initiatory death. Those who have passed the hard course of Arcane XIII. Who have known awakening. It is about that threshold. The one-way journey that tears us away from the earth’s gravity to make ephemerals of us that the wind blows around at will. Attracted by the bright light, we burn our wings on all the headlights of the wreckers.

Grandmother Ereshkigal is the Grand Guardian of the obligatory passage. Of the desired bottleneck. Of the narrow gate. Of the eye of the needle.

Humility, always and again. If you are nothing, no one can stop you from moving forward.

 

The Seven Gates

The god Nergal falls in love with her and goes down to join her in hell. To achieve this, he must break seven doors, says the legend. What I see there is the mytheme “the seven doors“. Which makes me want to go further. Much further.

I am not a scientist. These people cultivate certainty on the ground of approximation. I try to reverse it. Faced with the facts, traces, proofs, concordances, concomitances, faced with all that supports this other history deciphered day after day, I do not cry victory. I just believe without believing it.

 

 

The first is the Wooden door. Whoever pushes it with a light heart manages to move it alone.

The second is the Iron gate. He who pushes it with an offered heart is ready for the transference.

Opens at three the door of the Heart. He who can tear his heart out sees the end of his misfortune.

Fourth door is named Virtue. Will open with a sharp cry. Thus opens the V of Virtue.

Fifth door is called Anger. Whoever breaks out will relax the atmosphere.

Sixth calms Thunder. After lightning, the ions smell good.

At the last, give up your very life. Give up your ultimate hope. With this renunciation, become what you are: a duck down that the wind deposits on the Lake of Time.

 

 

The first half of life is devoted to forming a healthy ego, the second half is going inward and letting go of it.
Carl Gustav Jung

Ereshkigal

 

Ereshkigal ? Connais pas. C’est dans quel film ? Dans un film à faire sur notre histoire vraie, pleine de dieux et de héros, de bravoure et de cruauté. Dans le film qu’il faut tourner sur notre origine divine, sur les temps lointains où les dieux marchaient parmi les hommes. Ces temps si lointains qui sont pour moi si proches.

Déesses d’avant

Les dieux d’avant, c’est bien joli. Mais les déesses d’avant sont bien plus intéressantes. Nous avons été créés, choyés, nourris, éduqués par des déesses. Notre humanité, cinquième du nom, a commencé par un long matriarcat. Une très très longue suprématie féminine, oui-da.

Ereshkigal, la « Dame de la Grande Terre » est la déesse du monde des morts, les Enfers mésopotamiens. Son amant Nergal lui a donné un fils. En dehors de cette histoire d’amour, on ne sait pas grand chose sur la patronne du Grand En-Bas.

Comme la plupart des déesses mères de toutes les mythologies, Ereskigal régnait sur le monde souterrain. Son nom a été traduit par « reine du Grand En-Bas ». On la considère habituellement comme la sœur ou l’aspect sombre d’Inanna, et l’on dit que les deux déesses se seraient partagé la domination sur les mondes d’en-haut et d’en-bas. Une conception étayée par le fait qu’Inanna affirme descendre aux enfers pour assister aux funérailles de Gugul-ana, l’époux d’Ereskigal, sa sœur aînée. Parfois Ereskigal est identifiée à Ninlil, déesse jeune fille violée par Enki à plusieurs reprises.

Courroucés, les autres dieux exilent Enki aux Enfers et Ninlil, se sachant enceinte, le suit pour ne pas rester seule. Plus tard Enki réussit à s’échapper mais le Grand En-Bas garde Ninlil à titre de dédommagement. Recluse dans le monde souterrain, Ninlil donne naissance à la lune.

Bengali ?

Que signifie Ereshkigal ? On pourrait décomposer en phonèmes de la langue des origines, mais Google trad m’a mis sur une autre piste : le bengali. C’est une des langue indienne, celle qu’on parle au Bengale et au Bangla Desh. En bengali, Ereshkigal s’écrit : ইরেশ কি গল্  et veut dire : What the heck ? / Que diable ? Ça peut aussi s’écrire : এর এস কি গল্ qui signifie : Quoi de neuf ? What’s new ? Pure déconnade ou nouvelle piste prometteuse ? On verra bien.

Il se pourrait que le turc, comme l’allemand, soit une langue mère, un pont privilégié vers la source de toutes les langues, la langue des origines. En turc, ces phonèmes signifient tout autre chose : er (privé) esk (vieille) igal (occupation). En estonien, igal = tous. Ce qui évoque quelque chose comme : Ancienne mission secrète (d’intérêt général).

Montagne ou Enfers

Très différents de l’enfer chrétien, les enfers mésapotamiens semblent un espace intérieur où les morts sont gardés. Ces enfers s’appelaient d’abord KUR ou La Montagne. Par la suite, ils furent relocalisés sous terre, mais conservèrent le nom de KUR. Ils sont sous nos pieds et on les appelle la Montagne… Pourquoi ? Voyons voir. 

K UR, ce nom indique UR, l’origine des Dieux d’avant, et UR, première ville des dieux sur terre. Pourquoi (k)ur signifie la Montagne ? Pour la même raison que les Grecs situaient le domaine des dieux sur le Mont Olympe. Le thème du dieu sur la montagne est un mythème récurrent sur tous les continents. Parce que pour aller chez les Dieux, il fallait d’abord monter sur une montagne. Cela tient aux engins volants des dieux d’avant, qui ne pouvaient décoller que sur une hauteur, pyramide tronquée, montagne arasée… J’évoque cette question en détail dans Les trônes de Salomon.

L’idée à retenir c’est qu’autrefois, pour aller chez les dieux, il fallait passer par la Montagne, alors que maintenant, il faut descendre chez dame Ereshkigal.

 

 

Vers le bas

Elle est présente dans des récits comme la Descente d’Inanna aux Enfers ou Nergal et Ereshkigal ou dans les Hymnes aux temples. Elle règne dans son palais du Ganzer, assistée de quelques dieux infernaux, mais coupée de toutes relations avec les vivants de la surface et les dieux d’en haut. Ainsi le déduit-on de quelques bribes recueillies sur son compte au hasard des tablettes cunéiformes.

Ganzer, en allemand, veut dire entier. Qu’est-ce qu’un palais entier ? Un grand palais ? Ou bien un sas qui donne accès à l’univers entier ? Pour l’instant, bornons-nous à ces spéculations. Voilà qu’on connaît le nom de son palais, mais on ne sait pas en quoi consiste son activité de Reine d’En Bas. S’occupe-t-elle des morts dont elle a la garde ? Pas vraiment. Elle explique à son amoureux que s’il ne descend pas la rejoindre, elle rendra la vie à tous les morts qui viendront envahir la terre. Cette menace décide le pauvre transi, Nergal, dont le nom signifie en Suédois : Celui qu’une fille attire vers le bas. (Ner = vers le bas ; Gal = fille).

La langue suédoise laisse à penser que Nergal est Hyperboréen. Oui, encore un. Il y a toute vraisemblance que le corpus légendaire sumérien soit une relocalisation d’événements survenus plus au nord, en Hyperborée et sur les terres celtiques.

Mais ce mythème signifie que les morts le sont vraiment. Ereshkigal n’a donc rien à faire pour s’occuper d’eux, ils sont morts. Grosse différence avec l’enfer chrétien, où les morts sont bien vivants, où les pécheurs se font rôtir les miches et enfourcher les burnes par des salopards pervers polymorphes, à l’image du clergé catho. Mais alors, à quoi Ereshkigal occupe-t-elle son temps, toute seule au milieu des maccabs ? Sans parler de l’odeur, elle a dû se faire tartir à cent sous de l’heure. Surtout avant que son amant descende lui faire des trucs et un gamin. Ça occupe.

 

          Lai d’amende             

Ereshkigal a chanté tout l’été
La voilà bien dépitée
Du lieu qu’il faut habiter.
Elle s’en va pleurer misère
Chez Inanna sa commère
La priant de lui prêter
Son palais pour subsister
Dans ces Enfers détestés.

Inanna n’est pas bêcheuse
Elle a mille autres défauts.
-Est-ce tout ce qu’il vous faut ?
Dit-elle à son emprunteuse.
-Auriez-vous de quoi manger ?
De quoi rire et me changer ?
Auriez-vous quelque équipage ?
Une servante et deux pages ?
Et cocher, palefrenier,
Rôtisseur, laquais, meunier,
Chaque matin mille écus…

Inanna lui montra son cul.

 

L’entrée du Royaume

Ereshkigal est une grande dame qui ne s’en fait pas pour si peu. On l’appelle la Dame de la Grande Terre. Pourquoi ? Parce que la Grande Terre est son domaine. Le sous-sol lui appartient. Si la Terre est creuse comme des textes anciens l’affirment, ça fait beaucoup de place à l’intérieur. D’où Grande Terre.

Mouais… Il y a autre chose, forcément. Pour ce que j’en ai vu, Grande Terre est une image pour évoquer tout l’univers. Ereshkigal serait une clé sacrée. Elle attire Nergal vers le bas, non pour le perdre, mais pour le sauver. Passante. Il passe par elle.

La Montagne vers le bas. Le Très Grand Lieu débouche sur l’infini. Non au sens figuré, mais au sens propre. Sous nos pieds, dans le ventre de notre Mère, il y a un passage. Une Porte des Étoiles. Un sas vers l’Ailleurs. Un Pont Blanc qui brille de tous les désirs des hommes.

Ce n’est pas une seule porte, mais sept.

Ereshkigal est la Gardienne du Septime Seuil. Au-delà de la septième porte s’ouvre l’huis des étoiles. Le Centre Terre est un couloir spatio-temporel, comme le soleil.  Par ce portail, on peut rejoindre plusieurs planètes dans différents systèmes. En Alcor notamment. Les dieux Ases sont les enfants d’Ereshkigal, ils connaissent ce passage qui relie leur planète d’origine, Asgaard, à quelques autres dont la nôtre.

Ainsi Ereshkigal est passante. C’est par elle, avec elle et en elle qu’on atteint le Royaume. Pour tous les morts de cette planète, elle est le passage obligé vers la suite de l’aventure. Tel est son job où elle excelle.

Et par morts j’entends celles et ceux qui ont connu la mort initiatique. Celles qui ont passé le dur cap de l’arcane XIII. Ceux qui ont connu l’éveil. Il s’agit de ce seuil-là. Le voyage sans retour qui nous arrache à la pesanteur terrestre pour faire de nous des éphémères que le vent promène à son gré. Attirés par la lumière vive, nous nous brûlons les ailes sur les phares des naufrageurs.

Grand-mère Ereshkigal est la Grand-Gardienne du passage obligé. Du goulet voulu. De la porte étroite. Du chas de l’aiguille. Comment passer ? Humilité, toujours et encore. Si tu n’es rien, nul ne peut t’empêcher d’avancer.

 

Les sept portes

Le dieu Nergal tombe amoureux d’elle et descend la rejoindre aux enfers. Pour y parvenir, il doit briser sept portes, dit la légende. Ce que j’y vois, c’est le mythème « les sept portes ». Qui donne envie d’aller plus loin. Beaucoup plus loin.

Je ne suis pas scientifique. Ces gens-là cultivent la certitude sur le terreau de l’à-peu-près. Je m’efforce à l’inverse. Face aux faits, aux traces, aux preuves, aux concordances, aux concomitances, face à tout ce qui étaye cette autre histoire de l’homme décryptée jour après jour, je ne crie pas victoire. Je me contente de croire sans y croire.

 

 

La première est la porte de Bois. Qui la pousse d’un cœur léger parvient seul à la bouger.

La deuxième est la porte de Fer. Qui la pousse d’un cœur offert est paré pour le transfert.

S’ouvre en trois la porte du Cœur. Qui peut s’arracher le cœur voit la fin de son malheur.

Quarte porte est nommée Vertu. S’ouvrira sur un cri pointu. Comme fait le V de Vertu.

Quinte porte appelle Colère. Qui éclate à propos détendra l’atmosphère.

Sixte porte apaise Tonnerre. Après la foudre, les ions sentent bons.

 

Ainsi sont franchies les six premières.
À la dernière, renonce à ta vie même.
Abandonne cet ultime espoir.
Par ce don de toi, deviens ce que tu es :
un duvet de canard que le vent dépose sur le lac du Temps.

 

On avance à rien dans ce canoë / Là-haut, on te mène en bateau / Tu pourras jamais tout quitter, t’en aller / Tais-toi et rame.
Alain Souchon