Jung And The Soul

jung-ame-esprit-temps-profondeurs-sk-688po

 

Some time ago, I evoked the soul in front of an atheist. “What soul?” she said, “I do not have any.” Not at all disconcerted, I said: “No, you have no soul, but I have one.”

And I’ll continue with the interrupted sentence. The atheist makes the face. She thought she was sure of herself, convinced that she had no soul, and now she doubted, jealous of this guy who said “you have no soul.” Now she wants one!

Ah the mysteries of the soul! In general I avoid this word-suitcase, this catch-all word which takes as many meanings as a bishop can bless. If he still has time for anything but little boys.

The soul is a fuzzy, overloaded notion, to which, honestly, few of us understand anything. The word soul comes from another era. Jung, psychoanalyst, physician, and Christian, reads this. He, whom I venerate, does not escape the ambiguities of the concept.

“At that time I was still entirely a prisoner of the spirit of the time, I spoke a great deal about the soul, I knew many scholarly words about it, I made it an object of science. Not be the object of my judgment and my knowledge: it is my judgment and my knowledge which are the object of my soul.

That is why the spirit of the depths compelled me to speak to my soul, to invoke it as a living being, existing by itself. I had lost my soul. For the spirit of this time, the soul is a thing that depends on man, which can be judged and classified, and from which we can grasp the magnitude.” (Source)CG Jung, The Red Book, Liber Primus , Fol II

Now the spirit of the depths is quite another thing: your soul is not yours, Jung tells us, it is you who belong to your soul. “So I had to speak to my soul as to something remote and unknown that does not exist by me but by whom I exist.” (Source)CG Jung, The Red Book, Liber Primus , Fol II

 

The spirit of the depths

Carl Jung opposes two forms of mind that direct our behavior: the spirit of time and the spirit of the depths. This dichotomy recalls that of the Catholic religious, who distinguished the spirit of the age and the spirit of the rule. The priests reverted to the spirit of the age, which is why they speak of secular clergy, while the monks, subject to the rule of their order, are called the regular clergy.

The spirit of the depths of which Jung speaks does not obey a written rule, or conceived by men. The rule which animates it resembles the unwritten Rule of which Castaneda speaks, the Rule which every warrior possesses inside, the Rule which is the heart of the Nagual’s philosophy.

In those days, Jung has just discovered this opposition -or this complementarity- between the two forms of spirit. The spirit of the depths had not manifested itself before those days.

There is an explanation for that. When he writes The Red Book, Carl Gustav Jung has just passed the cape of his forties, and this age is not insignificant. At the age of 42, for the druidic tradition, comes the sixth and last initiation. The first one occurs at the age of 7, the others follow each other every seven years. The sixth initiation, at 42, consecrates the spiritual maturity. From then on, the person is complete. But his/her kingdom is no longer of this world. So are the great initiates.

 

 

This is precisely what Dr. Jung has just experienced, which has done so far on the material, intellectual, affective and scientific level. He must consequently devote himself to spiritual realities, hence the sensation that he has of finding his soul long gone.

“If the desire turns away from external things, it reaches the seat of the soul, and if it does not find the soul, the horror of emptiness seizes on it and fear will drive it with lashes again and again In a desperate quest for the hollow things of the world to which he will blindly aspire.

He will become the jester of his endless desire, withdraw from his soul and lose it so as never to find it again. He will run after all things, he will draw them all to him, but he will not find his soul, for he would find it only in himself. If he possessed his desire instead of his desire, he would have laid a hand on his soul, for desire is the image and expression of the soul.”

The richness of the soul is made of images. My friends, it is wise to feed the soul, otherwise you raise dragons and devils in your midst.(Source)CG Jung, The Red Book, Liber Primus , Fol II

 

The path to the soul

The soul is not given to us, because we belong to the soul, not the contrary. Our soul is immortal, but we are not. Our soul will survive and we will not know if we are not awake in this life. Our soul will survive and we will survive in it if we have experienced awakening before we die, or at the time of death, it works too.

Instead of soul, I will say the higher self, it is easier to understand, and it is less loaded. This higher self merges with being at the moment of awakening. As long as the awakening is not acquired, the soul -or the higher self- floats somewhere above the person that can only join it while sleeping. And again, the person rarely remembers when he/she wakes up.

The path to the soul is therefore the path to enlightenment. It is not a garden of roses, except for the thorns. Through the ordeals, my mother used to say, “Life is a slice of shit and every day we eat a little bit.” It is up to us to climb this path. And every day the climb continues, harassing. Difficult some evenings not to yield to discouragement.

“No tree, it is said, can grow to heaven unless its roots reach down to hell” CG Jung used to say.

 

carl-jung-et-sigmund-freud-688po

 

“Would there be one among you who believes that you can do without the way?” “Being able to go along with the torture of Christ, to advance in deceit, I can say that this man is deceiving himself and is harmful to himself. Makes his bed upon thorns and fire, and the way of Christ can not be avoided for any one, for this way leads to what is to come: you must all become Christs.

You will not overcome the old dogma by doing less but doing more. Every step that brought me closer to my soul aroused the mocking laughter of my devils, those cowardly poisoners who whispered their sarcasms in my ear. It was easy for them to laugh because I had strange things to do.” (source)C.G. Jung, The Red Book, Liber Primus, fol II 

Even though Jesus has nothing historical, the concept of Christ was not invented for him. Many other Christs mark the unknown History of Humans. There are Mithra, Rama, Prometheus, Enki, Orpheus, Apollonius of Tyana, Emperor Constantine, and Heliogabalus before him, and Quetzalcoatl, Viracocha, Buddha …

Following them, on their track, it is up to us to rise to their level. It is the work of a lifetime, of all our lives. But I see no other goal worthy of our efforts.

Following them, on their track, it is up to you to rise to their level. You have only this life, little life of yours, to conquer the summit of yourself. How many more years? The countdown has started at your birth. The goal is exhilarating, all steps cost you, all the minutes of suffering are centuries for you. It is the work of your life, of all life. I see no other goal worthy of so much effort.

L’âme selon Jung

jung-ame-esprit-temps-profondeurs-sk-688po

 

Il y a quelques temps, j’ai évoqué l’âme devant une personne athée. « Quelle âme ? me dit-elle. Moi je n’en ai pas. » Nullement déconcerté, je lui réponds du tac au tac : « Non, toi tu n’as pas d’âme. Mais moi j’en ai une. »

Et j’enchaîne. L’athée ne m’écoute pas. Elle fait la tronche. Elle si sûre d’elle, certaine de n’avoir pas d’âme, la voilà qui doute, jalouse de ce gus culotté qui vient de lui dire « tu n’as pas d’âme ». Maintenant elle en veut une !

Ah les mystères de l’âme ! En général j’évite ce mot-valise, ce fourre-tout qui prend autant de significations qu’un évêque peut en bénir. S’il a encore du temps pour autre chose que les petits garçons.

L’âme est une notion floue, trop chargée, à laquelle, honnêtement, peu d’entre nous comprennent encore quelque chose. L’âme appartient à une autre époque. C’est ce qu’on saisit en relisant Jung, psychanalyste, médecin et chrétien. Lui-même, que je vénère, n’échappe pas aux ambiguïtés du concept. 

« A cette époque, j’étais encore entièrement prisonnier de l’esprit de ce temps. Je parlais beaucoup de l’âme, je connaissais plein de mots savants sur elle, j’en ai fait un objet de science. Mon âme ne peut pas être l’objet de mon jugement et de mon savoir : c’est mon jugement et mon savoir qui sont l’objet de mon âme.

C’est pourquoi l’esprit des profondeurs m’obligea à parler à mon âme, à l’invoquer en tant qu’être vivant, existant par lui-même. J’avais perdu mon âme. Pour l’esprit de ce temps, l’âme est une chose qui dépend de l’homme, qui peut être jugée et classifiée, et dont nous pouvons saisir l’ampleur. » (source)C.G. Jung, Le livre rouge, Liber Primus, fol II 

Mais pour l’esprit des profondeurs, c’est tout autre chose : ton âme n’est pas à toi, nous dit Jung, c’est toi qui lui appartiens. « Il a donc fallu que je parle à mon âme comme à quelque chose de lointain et d’inconnu qui n’existe pas par moi mais par qui j’existe. »

 

L’esprit des profondeurs

Carl Jung oppose deux formes d’esprit qui dirigent nos comportements : l’esprit du temps et l’esprit des profondeurs. Cette dichotomie rappelle celle des religieux catholiques, qui distinguent l’esprit du siècle et l’esprit de la règle. Les prêtres relèvent de l’esprit du siècle, c’est pourquoi on parle de clergé séculier, tandis que les moines, soumis à la règle de leur ordre, forment le clergé régulier.

L’esprit des profondeurs dont parle Jung n’obéit pas une règle écrite, ni conçue par les hommes. La règle qui l’anime ressemble à la Règle non-écrite dont parle Castaneda, que tout guerrier possède en lui, et qui est le coeur de la philosophie du Nagual. Jung vient juste de découvrir cette opposition, ou complémentarité, entre les deux formes d’esprit. L’esprit des profondeurs ne s’était pas manifesté en lui avant cette époque.

Il y a une explication à cela. Quand il écrit son Livre Rouge, Carl Gustav Jung vient de passer le cap de la quarantaine, et cet âge n’est pas anodin. A l’âge de 42 ans, si l’on en croit la tradition druidique, vient la sixième et dernière initiation. La première intervient à l’âge de 7 ans, les autres se suivent ensuite tous les sept ans. La sixième initiation, à 42 ans, consacre la maturité spirituelle. A partir de là, l’être est complet. Mais son royaume n’est plus de ce monde. Ainsi sont les grands initiés.

 

 

C’est précisément ce que vient de vivre le Dr Jung, qui a tout réussi jusque là sur le plan matériel, intellectuel, affectif et scientifique. Il devra dès lors se consacrer aux réalités spirituelles, d’où la sensation qu’il a de retrouver son âme longtemps disparue.

« Celui dont le désir se détourne des choses extérieures parvient au siège de l’âme. S’il ne trouve pas l’âme, l’horreur du vide s’empare de lui et la peur le poussera à coups de fouet encore et encore dans une quête désespérée des choses creuses du monde auxquelles il aspirera aveuglément. 

Il deviendra le bouffon de son désir sans fin, s’éloignera de son âme et la perdra pour ne jamais la retrouver. Il courra après toutes les choses, il les tirera toutes vers lui, mais il ne trouvera pas son âme, car il ne la trouverait qu’en lui. S’il possédait son désir au lieu que son désir le possède, il aurait posé une main sur son âme, car le désir est l’image et l’expression de l’âme. »

« La richesse de l’âme est faite d’images. Mes amis, il est sage de nourrir l’âme, sinon vous élevez en votre sein des dragons et des diables. » (source)C.G. Jung, Le livre rouge, Liber Primus, fol II 

 

Le chemin vers l’âme

L’âme ne nous est pas donnée, car c’est nous qui lui appartenons, pas le contraire. Elle est immortelle, mais pas nous. Elle survivra et nous n’en saurons rien si nous ne sommes pas éveillés dans cette vie. Elle survivra et nous survivrons en elle si nous avons connu l’éveil avant de mourir, ou au moment de mourir, ça marche aussi.

 Au lieu d’âme, je vais dire le moi supérieur, c’est plus facile à comprendre, et c’est moins chargé. Ce moi supérieur fusionne avec l’être au moment de l’éveil. Tant que l’éveil n’est pas acquis, l’âme, ou le moi supérieur, flotte quelque part au-dessus de l’être qui ne peut la rejoindre que durant son sommeil. Et encore, il s’en souvient rarement au réveil.

Le chemin vers l’âme est donc le chemin vers l’éveil. Un chemin ardu vers la vie éternelle. Ce n’est pas un jardin de roses, à part pour les épines. A travers les épreuves, ma mère avait coutume de dire : « La vie est une tartine de merde et tous les jours on en mange un petit peu. »

Vaille que vaille, il nous appartient de gravir ce chemin. Et tous les jours la grimpette continue, harassante. Difficile certains soirs de ne pas céder au découragement.

« Aucun arbre, dit-on, ne peut atteindre le ciel sans que ses racines touchent à l’enfer » aimait à répéter CG Jung. 

 

carl-jung-et-sigmund-freud-688po

 

« Y en aurait-il un parmi vous qui croie pouvoir faire l’économie du chemin ? Pouvoir, tout en côtoyant la torture du Christ, avancer dans la tromperie ? Je dis : cet homme se leurre et se porte lui-même préjudice. Il fait son lit sur des épines et du feu. Le chemin du Christ ne peut être évité à personne, car ce chemin mène à ce qui est à venir. Il faut que vous deveniez tous des Christs.

Vous ne surmonterez pas l’ancien dogme en faisant moins mais en faisant plus. Chaque pas qui me rapprochait de mon âme suscitait le rire moqueur de mes démons, de ces lâches empoisonneurs qui me soufflaient leurs sarcasmes à l’oreille. Il leur était facile de rire, car j’avais d’étranges choses à faire. » (source)C.G. Jung, Le livre rouge, Liber Primus, fol II 

Même si Jésus n’a rien d’historique, le concept de Christ n’a pas été inventé pour lui. Bien d’autres Christs jalonnent l’histoire inconnue des hommes. Il y a Mithra, Rama, Prométhée, Enki, Orphée, Apollonius de Tyane, l’empereur Constantin, et Héliogabale avant lui, et Quetzalcoatl, Viracocha, Bouddha… 

 

A leur suite, sur leur trace, il t’appartient de te hisser à leur niveau. Tu n’as que cette vie, cette petite vie, pour conquérir le sommet de toi-même. Combien d’années encore ? Le compte à rebours commence à ta naissance. Le but est exaltant, tous les pas te coûtent, toutes les minutes de souffrance sont des siècles pour toi. C’est le travail de ta vie, de toute vie. Je ne vois pas d’autre but digne de tant d’efforts.

 

De l’homme à l’homme vrai, le chemin passe par l’homme fou. Jamais la psychologie ne pourra dire sur la folie la vérité, puisque c’est la folie qui détient la vérité de la psychologie.
Michel Foucault