Wonderful City of Ys

 

Wonderful city of gold and crystal, where the lights of Hyperborea make the translucent facades sparkle, where the large statues of orichalque light up and go out in a way to guide the glass vessels and the diamond spaceships. Made of stone and air, wave and light, Ys the Resplendent was said to have sheltered the childhood of Lugh the Cyclops, king of the sacred tribe of Danaan, father of Cuchulainn and cousin of Manannan.

 

Par Ys

And Lugh creates yet another link between the ancient capital of the Gauls, Lugdunum ie fortress of Lug, and the modern capital of France, Paris or Par Ys, Pareil à Ys.Ys like Would Lugh have lived in Paris? I don’t know. Why not? The city of Ys was written Is, like the Great Goddess Isis, who gives humans the purest gift: awakening.

In the heart of Paris, not far from Notre Dame Cathedral — dedicated to Ahn the Great Goddess — an awakening ritual has been practiced for centuries according to the ancient cult of Isis Dana Ahn. It was the duty of the Druid Healers, under the banner of the Sow who is fleeing.

This curious Sow doesn’t mean a lot in English. Agreed. Blame the translation. Well, in fact French sentence is not much clearer : La Truie Qui File. This is the famous languiage of the birds. In French, La Truie Qui File is a homophony with the Druid who heals. A secret way to inform that under this sign one could be healed by an authentic druid. Only insiders could get the message, so the Inquisition doesn’t know.

 

City of Ys

But let’s go back to the original, the City of Ys. Legend has it that it was off Douarnenez or perhaps Concarneau on an island that is now sunken. The sacred lands surrounding it were invaded by sea water during eras. The Armorican Peninsula toppled in one fell swoop, with the north coast emerging from the English Channel as the south coast sank into the Atlantic.

The successive kings of this glorious city built formidable ramparts of considerable thickness to contain the invading waves. The whole island of Ys was surrounded by this dike behind which one could hear the deaf shock of the waves. This sinister rampart had only one opening: a vast lock was used for the passage of ships before the rise of the waters.

Legend has it that Dahut, the insolent and capricious daughter of the monarch who reigned over the city, had fun opening this lock. And then she’d run off on a magic horse. To avenge the countless deaths and the loss of his capital city, the King would have caught up with the fugitive in order to drown her with his hands. There are other versions which don’t sound better to me. The very first of these is due to Jacques Cambry. It comes straight from the Britanny oral tradition. Visiting Finistère in 1794, Cambry hears about the city of Ys where King Gralon reigns, and where his daughter “Princess Dahut, the king’s daughter, forgetting the modesty and natural moderation of her sex, exemplifies all kinds of depravity”. (source)Jacques Cambry

Clearly, all this sounds false. The moral and religious education of the time pervert the oral tradition. The Catholic Church distorted this myth. A mystery is necessarily hidden behind, as the hypocrisy of the parish priests spreads from the front.

 

 

Universal Code

When something bothers me, I love going there. There’s nothing like the land. I’ve been there. And I’m going back again. You have to know that I travel along the timeline — which is a great asset, I admit, to tell you another human history.

First doubt. This marvellous city surrounded by an impassable dike, having only access to the condemned lock, how did one go about entering? Was there an underground to cross the bay in the dry? I don’t think so. When I went there, I saw the sky full of planes. And I was on a plane too.

Second doubt — and I would have many more. Why does crazy Dahut behave like that? It smells too much holy water. We’re not told everything. I go back.

When I go, I am always struck by the magic of the approach. We get there by plane — a two-seater, little crystal bubble where I’m always alone. I give all the details, so that the memory goes back to either of you. This is your dream.

In my flying bubble, I see another one grow, a gigantic crystal cup that encloses the wonderful floating city. To see her perched high above the swells, an impossible and insane spectacle that I cannot tire of. Ys is the queen who reigns and spreads to the winds her proud golden bluish light. Seeing her in the glory of the sunset makes me feel like a bomb. I think I see Venus radiant in her divine nakedness.

 

Eden Saga Mode

The city rests on a transparent plateau like its protective dome. The plateau is carried over a reef by a single crystal foot, which is scary.

It is the Achilles heel of the proud city. The children shudder. The elders are quiet. Never before has the divine technology known the least concern. After a thousand generations, the science of Ur’s Supermen shines and still lasts as on the first day. The ancients are sure, the work of the gods is not about to fail.

As thin as it is, the foot is not fragile. It will be able to withstand the onslaught of the tides, it will be able to withstand the storms. It is said to be the optic nerve of a Golden Dragon. We doubt that this mythical monster ever existed, what about its optic nerve? I’m just reporting what I’ve been told. The benefit of this living nerve is its elasticity. It can grow as soon as it gets wet. This allows Ys to be always above the waves, whatever their level.

Unfortunately, Dahut’s childhood was poisoned by a sexual predator father. That’s what I saw. Everyone here knew that. The Court, the Ministry, the Gardens, the Palace, whether he was a magistrate or a private citizen, none of them was unaware of the smallest detail. No one flinched. And the little one has nourished in her wounded heart and in her soiled body a hatred that only death and carnage can appease.

Dahut fought alone against a tyrannical king. Perverse. Despotic. So powerful that no one dared to stand up to him, except to lose his own. Dahut of shadow and hatred. May Death suddenly come!

Cristal Bomb

It is the sound of the crystal dome, a dull explosion followed by a myriad of glass bells that clash on all the tones, in all the ranges, when the infinite of the eighth notes of the bells that come off cling to the eardrum. Nice din of crockery, household scene at the fairies all small, all pretty, all modeled on a background of infinity, ideal, guillerettes, necessary.

It is the crystalline noise that triggered a thousand interlinks, breakage, shocks, splinters, repetitive runoff of the acute angles that sting the ear in a tumult of trills, lattices and triolets.

Sound sparks that break the vase. Oh as the fine crystal breaks, thin flashes tinkling, falling, tinkling. A sound, broken by a fine crystal, triggered the avalanche of brilliant collapses, divine ruins, lights out and furious waves! To see in a few moments engulfed millennia of beauty! Inadmissible affront, inexpiable crime, it took the end of ys, it took the death of the lily, and the return of Ulysses in the city of Ullis.

Hello? Police speaking! Speak in the hygiaphone. Press the star key and decline all responsibility. Check here and say I swear. Repeat, it’s confusing. Back to reception. All our lines are busy. Call back next year at the same time on a Tuesday.

Revenge Tomb

Thus perished pride. The city among the cities, the chosen one of the gods, the radiant, the immortal lie under the moving waves. To see her beauty shine on the high cup – to say never again, your beauty drowned – the loss is painful horrible is your divine destiny city sublime fairy star O you who will never again shine on the sea, in memory of yesterday.

The sea has returned, the city is drowned. Thus was compensated the abhorrent torment of a misguided child. And Stone’s Heart Dahut broke the glass foot carrying the proud city. Thus the Crown Princess punishes the King her father by whom she suffered so many deaths in her body, so many cries in the mind, so much horror in her heart.

Thus fell the flamboyant crystal capital of a fragile empire like her. Thus it collapsed like a house of cards and the millions of shards of crystalline souls suddenly rolled under the sea wave.

Ys has lived. A world ends. To mourn it, no one will survive. The memory of the dead fades away, and the reason for their death.

 

 

The first knowledge is the knowledge of my ignorance: it is the beginning of intelligence.
Socrates

Merveilleuse Cité d’Ys

 

Merveilleuse cité d’or et de cristal, où les lumières d’Hyperborée font scintiller les façades translucides, où les grandes statues d’orichalque s’allument et s’éteignent en mesure pour guider les vaisseaux de verre et les astronefs de diamant. De pierre et d’air, d’onde et de lumière, Ys la Resplendissante a dit-on abrité l’enfance de Lugh le cyclope, roi de la tribu sacrée de Danaan, père de Cuchulainn et cousin de Manannan.

 

Semblable à Ys

 Et Lugh crée un lien de plus entre l’antique capitale des Gaules, Lugdunum forteresse de Lug, et la capitale moderne de la France, Paris ou Par Ys, Pareille à Ys. Lugh aurait-il vécu à Paris ? Je l’ignore. Pourquoi pas ? La ville d’Ys s’écrivait Is, comme la Grande Déesse, Isis, qui fait aux humains le don le plus pur, l’éveil.

Au cœur de Paris, non loin de la cathédrale Notre Dame — dédiée à Ahn la Grande Déesse —  un rituel d’éveil s’est pratiqué durant des siècles selon l’antique culte d’Isis Dana Ahn . C’était l’affaire des Druides Guérisseurs, à l’enseigne de la Truie qui file.

 

La légende

Mais revenons à l’original, la Cité d’Ys. La légende dit qu’elle se trouvait au large de Douarnenez ou peut-être de Concarneau sur une île aujourd’hui engloutie. Les terres sacrées qui l’entouraient furent envahies par l’eau de mer durant des ères. La péninsule armoricaine a basculé d’un seul tenant, la côte nord émergeant de la Manche tandis que la côte sud s’enfonçait dans l’Atlantique.

Les rois successifs de cette glorieuse cité ont fait bâtir de formidables remparts d’une épaisseur considérable pour contenir les flots envahissants. Toute l’île d’Ys était cernée par cette digue derrière laquelle on entendait le choc sourd des vagues. Ce rempart sinistre ne comportait qu’une ouverture : une vaste écluse servait au passage des vaisseaux avant la montée des eaux.

La légende dit que Dahut, fille insolente et capricieuse du monarque régnant, se serait amusée à ouvrir cette écluse. Et puis elle se serait enfuie sur un cheval magique. Pour venger les morts innombrables et la perte de sa capitale, le Roi aurait rattrapé la fuyarde afin de la noyer de ses mains. Il y a d’autres versions qui me laissent pareillement sceptique. Directement issue de la tradition orale du Finistère, la plus ancienne est due à Jacques Cambry. Il visite le Finistère en 1794 et y entend parler de la ville d’Ys où règne le roi Gralon, et où sa fille « la princesse Dahut, fille du roi, oubliant la pudeur et la modération naturelle à son sexe, y donnoit l’exemple de tout genre de dépravation ». (source)Jacques Cambry

Décidément, tout ceci sonne faux. L’éducation morale et religieuse de l’époque a dénaturé ce mythe. Un mystère est forcément caché derrière, tant l’hypocrisie des curés s’étale par devant.

 

 

Une autre histoire

Si quelque chose me chiffonne dans le passé, j’adore me rendre sur place. Rien ne vaut le terrain. J’y suis allé voir. Et j’y retourne encore. Il faut savoir que je voyage sur toute la ligne de temps — ce qui est un fameux atout, je l’avoue, pour vous conter une autre histoire de l’être humain. 

Premier doute. Cette merveilleuse cité entourée d’une digue infranchissable, ayant pour seul accès l’écluse condamnée, comment faisait-on pour entrer ? Y avait-il un souterrain pour franchir la baie au sec ? Je ne pense pas. Quand j’y suis allé, j’ai vu des avions plein le ciel. Et moi aussi j’étais en avion.

Second doute — et j’en aurais bien d’autres. Pourquoi Dahut la folle se comporte-t-elle de la sorte ? Ça sent trop l’eau bénite. Est-elle vraiment folle ? On ne nous dit pas tout. Aussitôt j’y retourne.

Quand j’y vais, je suis chaque fois saisi par la magie de l’approche. On y arrive en avion — un biplace, petite bulle de cristal où je suis toujours seul. Je donne tous les détails, pour que la mémoire revienne à l’une ou l’autre d’entre vous. Ce rêve est le vôtre.

Dans ma bulle volante, j’en vois grandir une autre, gigantesque coupe de cristal qui enserre la merveilleuse cité flottante. La voir ainsi perchée, haute au dessus des houles, spectacle impossible et dément dont je ne peux me lasser. Ys est reine qui trône et diffuse aux vents sa fière lumière dorée bleutée. La voir dans la gloire du couchant me fait l’effet d’une bombe. Je crois voir Vénus radieuse en sa divine nudité. 

 

En mode Eden Saga

La cité repose sur un plateau transparent comme son dôme protecteur. Le plateau est porté au dessus d’un récif par un unique pied de cristal, fin à faire peur.

C’est le talon d’Achille de l’orgueilleuse cité. Les enfants en frissonnent. Les anciens sont tranquilles. Jamais jusqu’ici la divine technologie n’a connu le moindre souci. Après mille générations, la science des Surhommes d’Ur brille et dure encore comme au premier jour. Les anciens en sont sûrs, l’œuvre des dieux n’est pas près de faillir.

Aussi fin soit-il, le pied n’est pas fragile. Il saura résister aux assauts des marées, il saura tenir tête aux tempêtes. Il est fait dit-on du nerf optique d’un Dragon d’Or. On doute déjà que ce monstre mythique ait existé, alors que dire de son nerf optique  ? Je ne fais que rapporter ce qu’on m’a dit. L’avantage de ce nerf vivant tient à son élasticité. Il peut s’allonger dès que l’humidité l’atteint. Ce qui permet à Ys d’être toujours au dessus des flots, quel que soit leur niveau.

Hélas, l’enfance de Dahut fut empoisonnée par un père prédateur sexuel. Voilà ce que j’ai vu. Tous ici le savaient. La Cour, le Ministère, les Jardins, le Palais, qu’il soit magistrat ou simple citoyen, aucun n’en ignorait le plus petit détail. Personne n’a bronché. Et la petite a nourri dans son cœur blessé et dans son corps souillé une haine que seule la mort et le carnage peut apaiser.

Dahut s’est battue seule contre un roi tyrannique. Pervers. Despotique. Si puissant que nul être osa lui tenir tête, sauf à perdre la sienne. Dahut d’ombre et de haine. Que soudain la Mort vienne !

 

Cristal Bombe

C’est le son du dôme de cristal, explosion sourde suivie d’une myriade de clochettes de verre qui s’entrechoquent sur tous les tons, dans toutes les gammes, quand l’infini des croches des cloches qui se décrochent accroche le tympan tintinnabulant. Joli vacarme de vaisselle, scène de ménage chez les fées toutes petites, toutes jolies, toutes modelées sur un fond d’infini, idéales, guillerettes, nécessaires.

C’est le tintouin cristallin qui déclencha mille entrechats, bris, chocs, éclats, ruissellement répétitif des angles aigus qui piquent l’oreille en dégringolade de trilles, de treillis et de triolets.

Étincelle sonore qui fait déborder le vase. Oh comme se brise le fin cristal, éclats ténus tintant, tombant, tintinnabulant. Un son, bris d’un fin cristal, a déclenché l’avalanche d’écroulements brillants, de ruines divines, de lumières éteintes et de flots en furie ! Voir en quelques instants s’engloutir des millénaires de beauté ! Inadmissible affront, crime inexpiable, a-t-il fallu la fin d’Ys, a-t-il fallu la mort du lys, et le retour d’Ulysse en cité des Ullis.

Allo ? Ici police ! Parlez dans l’hygiaphone. Appuyez sur la touche étoile et déclinez toute responsabilité. Cochez ici et dites je le jure. Répétez, c’est confus. Retour à l’accueil. Toutes nos lignes sont occupées. Rappelez l’année prochaine à la même heure, un mardi.

 

Vengeance Tombe

Ainsi périt l’orgueil. La cité parmi les villes, l’élue des dieux, la radieuse, l’immortelle gît sous les flots mouvants. Voir briller sa beauté sur la coupe élevée – se dire plus jamais, ta beauté s’est noyée – la perte est douloureuse, horrible est ton destin, divine cité fée, sublime étoile, ô toi qui plus jamais ne luira sur la mer en souvenir d’hier.

La mer est entrée, la ville est noyée. Ainsi fut compensé le supplice abhorré d’une enfant dévoyée. Et Dahut Cœur de Pierre brisa le pied de verre portant la ville altière. Ainsi la Princesse héritière punit le Roi son père par qui elle a souffert tant de morts dans son corps, tant de cris dans l’esprit, tant d’horreur dans son cœur.

Ainsi s’est abattue la flamboyante capitale de cristal d’un empire fragile comme elle. Ainsi s’écroula-t-elle tel un château de cartes et les millions d’éclats des âmes cristallines ont tout à coup roulé sous la vague marine.

Ys a vécu. Un monde s’achève. Pour le pleurer, nul ne survivra. Le souvenir des morts s’efface, et la raison de leur trépas.

 

 

Mon Dieu, mon Dieu, délivrez- nous de toutes les religions.
Guy Bedos